

Minutes

of the Meeting of

The Employment Committee Thursday, 20 July 2023

Kenn Room

Meeting Commenced: 12.45 pm Meeting Concluded: 4.30 pm

Councillors:

Ciaran Cronnelly (Chairperson)

Nigel Ashton
Mike Bell
Catherine Gibbons (substitute for Helen Thornton)
Wendy Griggs
Nicola Holland
Joe Tristram

Apologies: Councillors: Lisa Pilgrim and Helen Thornton.

Absent: Councillor: Michael Pryke.

Officers in attendance: Jo Walker (Chief Executive), Nicholas Brain (Assistant Director Legal & Governance and Monitoring Officer), Su Turner (Head of People Services), Beth Swann (Young Director) (part of meeting), Amy Webb (Director of Corporate Services) (part of meeting) and John Simpson (Chair of the Schools Strategic Forum) (part of meeting).

EMP Declaration of Disclosable Pecuniary Interest (Standing Order 37)

1

None declared.

EMP Minutes 01 March 2023

2

Resolved: that the minutes be approved as a correct record.

EMP Exclusion of the press and public

3

Item Reason for Exemption

Minute no. EMP 4 Paragraphs 1, 3 and 4 of Part 1 of

Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972

Resolved: that the press, public, and officers not required by the Members, the Chief Executive or the Director, to remain during the exempt session, be excluded from the meeting during consideration of the following item of business on the ground that its consideration will involve the disclosure of exempt information as defined in Section 100I of the Local Government Act 1972.

EMP Interviews for Director of Children's Services post (exempt item) 4

The Chief Executive updated members on the selection process and provided feedback from the various sessions with the candidates. The Committee then interviewed the shortlisted candidate.

Resolved:

- (1) that no appointment be made to the vacant post at this point; and
- (2) that the Chief Executive/Head of People Services take all necessary steps to continue with the recruitment to the role and to arrange a further Employment Committee in respect of any appointment process.

EMP 5	Urgent business permitted by the Local Government Act 1972 (if any)	
	None.	
		<u>Chairperson</u>